1640 artists from 92 countries applied to play at the next edition of Tallinn Music Week

13 November 2023 Music Festival

Puuluup (EE), TMW 2023. Andrea Forlani / estonianworld.com

The artist application call for the international new music festival Tallinn Music Week (TMW) resulted in 1640 submissions from 92 countries. Most applications came from Estonia, the United Kingdom and Finland. 

The 16th edition of TMW is scheduled to take place in the Estonian capital Tallinn from 3rd to 7th April 2024.

The open call for musicians wishing to perform at the TMW 2024 ran from May until last week. The results show that the interest in TMW reaches out to more and more regions around the world with each passing year. While the last edition of the festival received applications from 85 countries, then musicians from as many as 92 countries – from Europe to North and South America and from South East Asia to Australia and Oceania –, have applied for the upcoming festival.

Estonia leads the list with 182 applicants, followed by the United Kingdom with 168 and Estonia’s northern neighbour Finland with 136. Italy, Canada and the United States remain in the top ten for the second year, and the interest of musicians from France, Spain, the Netherlands and the Balkan region has increased significantly. Artists from more distant countries, including Puerto Rico, South Korea, Taiwan, Senegal, Mexico and Papua New Guinea have also shown aspiration to perform at Estonia’s premier showcase festival.

Tolü Makay (IE) at TMW 2023. Photo: Maxim Dubovik

TMW 2024 artist application TOP 15 by countries
1. Estonia
2. United Kingdom
3. Finland
4. Germany
5. Italy
6. France
7. Canada
8. Poland
9. Spain
10. USA
11. Sweden
12. Ukraine
13. Latvia
14. – 15 Belgium, Lithuania

All applications will be reviewed by the TMW programming team, including representatives of Estonian and international music organisations and experts on various genres and scenes. A confirmed line-up of around 175 artists will be revealed from January to February 2024. 

João Selva (FR/BR) at TMW 2023. Photo: Ako Lehemets / Estonian Funk Embassy

TMW is valued internationally as an influential event that opens up distinctive talent to wider recognition and audiences. 

TMW 2024 takes place from the 3rd to the 7th of April in the Estonian capital Tallinn. The music festival takes place in various clubs and concert venues across Tallinn from the 4th to the 6th of April.

TMW 2024 passes are on sale at the TMW webshop. Festival Pass that grants access to all the music festival events is available for the best price of 65 euros (end price 85 euros). PRO Pass for 150 euros (end price 225 euros) provides access to the TMW conference and DigiPRO platform as well as priority access to the music festival.

TMW is founded and run by Shiftworks. TMW’s strategic partner is the Estonian music industry development centre Music Estonia. TMW is a co-founder of The Federation of International Music Conferences (FoMC), and a member of the European talent exchange programme ESNS Exchange, the global gender equality network Keychange and the European showcase platform for world music UPBEAT.

Mari Kalkun (EE) at TMW 2023. Photo: Henri-Kristian Kirsip

Full list of applicant countries:
Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Benin, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cameron, Canada. Czech Republic, Chile, China, Colombia, Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Croatia, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Finland, France, Gabon, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Guinea, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Malta, Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco. Mozambique, Namibia, Netherlands, Nigeria, North Macedonia, Norway, Palestine, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Romania, Russia, Senegal, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, South Africa, South Korea, Sweden, Taiwan, Thailand, Togo, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom, the United States of America, Trinidad & Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, Uruguay, Zimbabwe